Photo Roundup from My Food Photography Course

Beer bread_back litWell people, I did it.

I survived a 30-day food photography course. Ok, technically I survived 21 days. Due to work deadlines, I was unable to finish the last week.

I am SO proud of myself. No, these photos are not perfect. And yes, I have a lot more to learn. But I was as dedicated as I could be, I made myself vulnerable by willfully sharing my art with people who critiqued it, and I let myself be new at something.

That last part is key. When’s the last time you let yourself be new at something? It’s so difficult. I want to have all the answers. I want to know it all. But I don’t. And putting myself in a situation where I couldn’t pretend or fake it was hard…and totally worth it.

Anyways, enough self-reflection. On to the photos!

These are all the photos I submitted for the course assignments, in no particular order. (Some of these you’ve seen already from my posts recapping week one and week two of the course.)

Enjoy!

P.S. Leave me a comment—I’d love to hear which is your favorite.

IMG_7536IMG_7669kaleIMG_8034pea soupversion 1fritattabeer bread_dark 1IMG_8209IMG_7623IMG_7549cakeIMG_7457IMG_8242plain egg fritatta

6 thoughts on “Photo Roundup from My Food Photography Course

  1. I fell behind after the first week and decided to keep the lessons in mind as I create food photos in the future. I think the inability to post my photos was a real disincentive to continue. It was a great learning experience nonetheless and I did learn a lot. It’ll be a good foundation for the future.

    I like the curve of the bowls in the kale recipe overhead photo and the atmosphere in the madelines photo. Good luck in your future photo endeavors!

    • Thanks, John! The course was tough to keep up with. Not sure if I could have made it as long as I did if I wasn’t able to post my photos and get feedback. That’s when you REALLY learn. Based on the info in the last assignment there will be two other courses coming soon: natural lighting and composition. Hope to see you there!

  2. As always, beautiful work! My top 3 faves in no particular order:
    – close-up of the tortellini (I feel like I could reach my fork through the screen and eat that.)
    – overhead shot of the quiche
    – madelienes and coffee (I would like to come over and enjoy those with you right now, OK?)

    • You can come over any time you want to share madeleines and coffee! 🙂 Thanks for the comment. Always love hearing your opinions.

Join the conversation

